FMEA Recognizes 17 Utilities for Safety Achievement

The Florida Municipal Electric Association (FMEA) awarded 17 of its utility members for their continued commitment to safe work practices during the past year.

For the past 29 years, FMEA has recognized the efforts of Florida’s municipally owned utilities to stress worker safety as the No. 1 priority. Utilities are placed into categories according to their total man-hours worked, and rewarded for the most incident-free records. The incidence rate used to judge utilities was based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses compared to the total number of worker-hours during 2016, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

The recognition reflects FMEA member’s commitment to protecting workers’ safety, while also ensuring reliable electric service to the customers. In an industry where serious injuries and fatalities are inherent, safety training is the best line of defense in preventing accidents and saving lives.

Awards were presented on April 22 at the FMEA Annual Florida Lineman Competition Awards Banquet in Lakeland.

The following utilities were presented with a Safety Award in their category:

Category A (0-59,999 man-hours):
City of Bushnell – perfect record
City of Chattahoochee – perfect record
City of Mount Dora – perfect record
City of Newberry – perfect record
Town of Havana – perfect record
City of Alachua – 2nd place

Category B (60,000-199,999 man-hours):
City of Leesburg – perfect record
Utilities Commission of New Smyrna Beach – 2nd place
Homestead Public Services – 3rd place

Category C (200,000-399,999 man-hours):
Keys Energy Services – 1st place
Ocala Electric Utility – 2nd place

Category D (400,000-999,999 man-hours):
Gainesville Regional Utilities – 1st place
City of Tallahassee – 2nd place
Kissimmee Utility Authority – 3rd place

Category E (1,000,000-2,499,999 man-hours):
Orlando Utilities Commission – 1st place
Lakeland Electric – 2nd place

Category G (2,500,000-greaert man-hours):
JEA – special recognition

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.