Florida Municipal Electric Association Presents First Ever “Restoring Communities Awards”

The Florida Municipal Electric Association (FMEA) recognized 20 public power communities for the work they did on restoring power to communities following Hurricanes Hermine and Matthew. Recipients of the award were announced in March, but the awards were officially presented to the utilities on April 22 at the 17th Annual Florida Lineman Competition Awards Banquet in Lakeland. Award winners were selected based on restoration times, customer communications efforts and the levels of mutual aid provided.

“Our members have been standing side-by-side for 75 years and that history of service to one another really shone through when we were facing the tough challenges of two back-to-back hurricanes and widespread power outages,” said Amy Zubaly, FMEA Interim Executive Director. “It’s that spirit of collaboration, cooperation and community that we honored public power communities with these awards.”

The recipients of the “Restoring Communities Awards” are:

  • Beaches Energy Services (Jacksonville Beach)
  • City of Alachua
  • City of Bartow
  • City of Green Cove Springs
  • City of Lake Worth
  • City of Leesburg
  • City of Newberry
  • City of Starke
  • City of Tallahassee
  • City of Quincy
  • Fort Pierce Utilities Authority
  • Gainesville Regional Utilities (GRU)
  • JEA
  • Keys Energy Services
  • Kissimmee Utility Authority (KUA)
  • Lakeland Electric
  • Ocala Electric Utility
  • Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC)
  • Town of Havana
  • Utilities Commission of New Smyrna Beach
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.